The Jyotish Star eMagazineThe Jyotish Star eMagazine Logo
Home | Vedic Venue | eMagazine | Current | FAQs | Contact Us | Links

The Sun in the Nakshatras Punarvasu and Pushya

By Jyotidevi (Charlotte Benson)

Nakshatras are 13 degree and 20 minute sections of the familiar 30 degree signs of the Zodiac. This section is the area of the sky which the Moon travels over in a 24 hour period. These smaller parts of signs contain much ancient, and very specific, embedded Truth.

Nakshatras are comprised of thousands of fixed stars, and they are associated with almost as many concepts! There are deities, planets, elemental qualities, gunas, ganas, animals, doshas, symbols, myths, sounds, castes, directions, etc. associated with each nakshatra. Knowing about the nakshatras of your Lagna (rising sign), Moon, and Sun can give you much information about your own hidden abilities, and motivations.

July begins with the Sun (Surya), continuing through Rahu-ruled Ardra, until the 5th, when he enters Punarvasu, nakshatra #7. This shift signals a noticeably lighter tone, due to Jupiter’s rulership of this star pattern. The Sun is here until about July 19 of any given year.

Punarvasu (Poo nar’ vas oo) spans from 20 degrees of Gemini to 3 degrees and 20 minutes of Cancer. Brilliant Castor and Pollux, alpha and beta of the sign Gemini, are its paired marker stars. These twin stars, in the sign of “The Couple” are clearly visible in the autumn and winter sky.

“Punah” means “return to”, “repetition” or “again”; “Vasu” means something valuable: gems, wealth, rays of light. The Vasus are also a special class of eight Vedic deities, according to Bepin Behari. Punarvasu is connected with the re-appearance of these cosmic beings, the Vasus, who personify and energize the different aspects of creation. Punarvasu channels avenues for evolution.

Since Jupiter is the planetary ruler of star #7, Punarvasu has an inherent interest in searching for Truth, righteousness, travel, knowledge, advice and trust. Those born with this Moon sign begin their lucky lives in the Jupiter dasa, which is a great way to start life! Sri Rama was said to have this Moon star.

Aditi, the “Goddess of Infinity” as Komilla Sutton terms her, is connected with Punarvasu. Aditi’s province is both Heaven and Earth; both the past and the future; and the creative consciousness of all living beings.

Symbolized by a bow (as in “bow & arrow”), Punarvasu personifies the link between desire – being on a mission - and reaching one’s objective. Punarvasu represents a collaboration of proper use of knowledge, and then the material results. Artha (material goal achievement) is the motivating force; Vata is the Ayurvedic dosha of Punarvasu.

Surya transits through nakshatra #8, Pushya, every year between around July 19 to around August 2. (By the way -I’m not being casual about the entry dates. It’s just that these dates shift a day or so in either direction each year due to the addition of a leap day, which we did in 2016, to accommodate for precession, etc.) The nakshatra Pushya spans from 3 degrees 20 minutes – 16 degrees, 40 minutes of Cancer. Its marker star is Delta Cancri, also known by its Arabic name, Al Natharah. This section of the sky also contains an amazing fuzzy-looking cluster of galaxies called “The Beehive.”

Pushya, or Pushyami, means “to nourish, to thrive.” It is symbolized by a flower, (and also by an arrow, and a circle.) A generic flower, in contrast to the iconic lotus of spiritual perfection, represents the blossoming of latent potential into a beautiful outer manifestation. The arrow symbol, and the circle symbol suggest that Pushya somehow links the subjective/inner with the objective/outer worlds.

Saturn is the planetary lord of star #8. Lord Shani’s rulership implies issues of stabilization, crystallization, some tamasic tendencies, and awareness of karmic restrictions. Those born under a Pushya Moon have the concept of duty and accountability instilled in them
at an early age, because their first dasa period is ruled by Saturn. From the opposite energetic polarity, Jupiter is also a very powerful influence here, since Jupiter is exalted in Pushya.

Brihaspati, identified with Jupiter, is Dev Guru, priest and advisor, to the gods, and presides over Pushya. As the presiding deity here, Brihaspati bestows concepts of good fortune, wealth, children, respect for knowledge and for the Law, generosity, and adherence to religious practices.

Pushya is such an auspicious star that it is said to be “good for *everything* – except marriage!”

Dharma (right action/honor) motivates Pushya; their Ayurvedic dosha is pitta (action.)

Copyright: yanc / 123RF Stock Photo

Charlotte Benson Biography:

Charlotte Benson Charlotte Benson (Jyoti Devi) has been a full-time consulting astrologer since 1972. She holds professional diplomas from the American Federation of Astrologers, the International Society for Astrological Research, the National Council for Geocosmic Research, as well as a certificate from the American College of Vedic Astrology. She is the President Emerita of the Arizona Society of Astrologers, currently serves on the board of the American College of Vedic Astrology, and was recently awarded the title of Jyotish Kovid from the Indian Council of Astrological Sciences and Jyotisha Choodamani from the Raman Foundation, Bangalore. She also received the 2015 Jyotish Navaratna (9 gems of Jyotish) title from ACVA (American College of Vedic Astrology).
602 952-1525
Phoenix, AZ USA.

Join Our Email List

Jyotish Star Copyright 2016 C. C. Collins - All Rights Reserved